The United Church of Canada Shining Waters Regional Council

SHINING WATERS REGIONAL COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE REGIONAL MEETING June 17, 2021

The meeting of Shining Waters Regional Council took place on June 17, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. via video conference.

Words of Welcome, Opening of Meeting and constituting the Council

David Leyton-Brown, President, welcomed all those participating, introduced himself and Executive Minister, Peter Hartmans. Jody Maltby gave an orientation to this meeting and the process and procedures being used.

President, David Leyton-Brown constituted the meeting in the name of Jesus Christ, and as the United Church gathered together, to deal with such business as should properly come before the Council.

The President gave the Acknowledgement of the Land.

<u>Worship</u>

President-Elect, Betty Lou McNabb, and Steven Loweth, of the Nominations Committee led a brief worship based on 1st Corinthians 12:4-11

Report of the Nominations Committee

General Council 44 Commissioners:

Betty Lou McNabb, Chair, and Sarah Jane Wetelainen of the Nominations Committee, presented the Nominations Committee Report on General Council 44 Commissioners.

MOTION by Betty Lou McNabb / Sarah Jane Wetelainen, that the Shining

Waters commissioners to the 44th General Council be:

Jingle Ayupan (lay)

Hedy Baker Graf (lay)

Maxwell Giffin (lay)

Isaac Kamta (ministry personnel)

Barbara Lloyd (lay)

Steven Loweth (ministry personnel)

Ken McEvoy (lay)

Lynella Reid-James (lay)

Dong Chun Seo (ministry personnel)

Heather Stevenson (ministry personnel)

The United Church of Canada Shining Waters Regional Council

Cameron Watts (ministry personnel)

And that the alternates be: Lawrence Nyarko (ministry personnel) David Leyton-Brown (lay) Jeanette Schieck (lay) Jan BreulsDorang (lay)

MOTION CARRIED

Intercultural Diversity Commission:

Lawrence Nyarko and Kirsty Hunter, of the Nominations Committee, gave the Nominations Report on the Intercultural Diversity Commission members.

MOTION by Lawrence Nyarko / Kirsty Hunter that the members of the Intercultural Diversity Commission be:
Joel Aguirre (ministry personnel)
Innocent Karuhanga (lay)
Amy Yea-Kyong Lee (ministry personnel)
John Joseph Mastandrea (ministry personnel)
Néstor Medina (lay)
Moon Ja Park (lay)

MOTION CARRIED

The Nominations Committee was thanked for their faithful and diligent work and the President thanked those who put their names forward for their willingness to serve the church in these important ways.

Welcome Newly Ordained, Commissioned and Admitted Ministers

The regional council's Celebration of Ministries service was held on May 30th which included the honouring of retirees and jubilands, and welcoming five people into ministry. As part of this celebration, a pre-recorded video from the celebrants was shown. The service is available on the regional council's YouTube channel.

Blessing and Adjournment

Having completed the business before	the regional	council, President	David Leyton-Brown
declare the meeting adjourned at 7:53	p.m. Peter	Hartmans offered a	a closing blessing.

David Leyton-Brown, President	Peter Hartmans, Executive Minister